Curriculum Overview

Required Subjects for Graduation

For Grades 10~12

  • English: 3 years
  • Japanese: 3 years
  • Mathematics: 3 years
  • Social Studies: 3 years
  • Science: 2 years
  • Physical Education: 3 years
  • Art or Music: 2 years
  • Health Science: 1 Year
  • Home Economics: 1 Year

 

ACADEMIC EXTENSION (AE)

Junior Academic Extension (Grades 9&10)

These courses consist of passages for reading and discussion in English in small groups. Each passage is read aloud around the group; then the teacher explains difficult vocabulary and concepts; then the passage is read again, after which students participate in a discussion about the passage.

The Grade 9 coursebook is titled Great Thinkers on the Path to Democracy.

The Grade 10 coursebook is titled Talking Citizenship.

Senior Academic Extension (Grades 11&12)

Regular additional academic courses in literature, history, technology and science are held for all year groups in order to broaden their thinking and academic experience. These are taught outside the standard timetable.

Subjects offered include:
Art
Advanced Computer Science
American Film
Astronomy
Chinese Culture
Community Service
Environmental Science
German
History of Pop
History of Warfare
Human Development
Italian
Japanese Calligraphy
Japanese Film
Journalism
Judo
Law
Math for High Flyers
Microscopic Pond Life
School Newspaper
Science of Color

 

Grade Levels & Academic Year

Grades 10~12 have a maximum capacity of 100 students each, and are each divided into each divided into twelve homeroom classes.  Grade 9 has a maximum student capacity of 60 students and is divided into two homeroom classes.

The academic year, which begins in September and ends in June, is made up of four quarters.

Supplementary Language Courses

Students can take ESL or JSL classes. The aim of these classes is to improve students' English or Japanese language ability at an advanced pace to ensure that they can understand the language used in their other courses.

 

TOEFL

Course offerings and course contents may vary year to year, depending on student numbers, instructors and/or instructor availability.

An in-school placement test, as well as semester grades and teacher recommendation, will determine whether a student should be placed in required elective courses in 9th and 10th grades.  The student’s score on the TOEFL test (or other standardized tests) will not necessarily have an effect on the placements. In 11th and 12th grade, a wider variety of elective courses, in addition to Academic Extensions, are offered for students to choose from.

 

ACADEMIC DEPARTMENTS

 

Dean of Faculty

 

Ms Fumiko  Kikuchi                                                   fkikuchi@keio.edu            

 

Chairs of Departments

 

Art:   Dr Stephen Lane                                                slane@keio.edu      

 

College Guidance:   Mr Kenichi Satate                ksatate@keio.edu

 

Counseling:Ms MichikoYamaguchi                         myamaguchi@keio.edu

 

English:Ms Eileen Gallagher                                     egallagher@keio.edu

 

Japanese:   Ms Fumiko Kikuchi                                   fkikuchi@keio.edu

 

Mathematics:    Dr Dusan Nesic                                   dnesic@keio.edu

 

Music   Dr Martin Sedek:                                              msedek@keio.edu 

 

Science & Technology:    Mr Karl Rahenkamp            jrahenkamp@keio.edu

 

Social Studies:   Mr Hadwin Card                                chadwin@keio.edu

 

Sport, PE & Health Science:   Ms Yoshiko Hori Sampson            yhori@keio.edu

 

Independent Listener :   Ms Tomie Severance              tseverance@keio.edu

Footer Logo Image

All images © 2013-2019 Keio Academy of New York

Address/Telephone

3 College Road
Purchase, NY 10577 USA
Phone: (914) 694-4825
 

powered by finalsite